The first pint

Posted: August 3, 2009 in Uncategorized

Well I finally got round to kegging a batch of beer. It’s an Irish Red Ale that I call my “Big Fella Ale” after Michael Collins (Irish Red Ale – IRA, get it?)

I’ve put the recipe below in case anyone wants to make it. It really turned out great, and is one of my house beers now (along with my dunkelweizen), that I will keep one of on tap at all times.

Here is the video

And the recipe…

Big Fella Irish Red Ale

Specialty/Steeping Grains:
• 0.75 lbs Crystal Malt – 60 lovibond
• 1 oz Black Patent Malt – 471 lovibond
• 0.5 lb Briess Victory Malt – 25 lovibond

Fermentables
• 2 lbs. Light DME
• 3.3 lbs Light Muntons LME

Hop additions
• 1 oz. Willamette Hops 4.6 % AA (60 min)
• 1 oz. Willamette Hops 4.6 % AA (5 min)

Yeast
• Wyeast 1084 Irish Ale yeast

Original Gravity – 1.045
Final Gravity – 1.010
ABV – 4.5%

Leave a comment